The Cricket world cup is concluded last night with England lifting their first-ever 50 overs cup. But, the controversy surrounded this world cup aren’t ending. Yesterday during the game both the umpires gave some wrong decision and now the last over’s overthrows runs came in as another controversy.
England needed 15 off the last over. The First two were dot balls and the third ball was six, England needs 9 of 3. Stokes then tapped a full ball towards mid-wicket and sprinted. Martin Guptill pounced on the ball and hurled a throw towards the striker’s end.
The batsman full in a desperate dive and stuck his bat out to reach the crease. As fate would have it, Guptill’s throw found Stokes’ bat and deflected past short fine leg and screamed away to the fence for overthrows.
Thee two standing umpires gathered and consulted and Kumar Dharmasena singled six runs for the incident which in all the terms gave England the upper hand.
The ICC 19.8 law states:
“If the boundary results from an overthrows or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”
After everyone read the rule, Twitter started to trash umpires and the ICC for giving one extra run of the Overthrows.
Even more confusion https://t.co/zVJIM9R1fv
— Silsiva (@ss_silsiva) July 15, 2019
— Asad Abidi (ر) (@abidii313) July 15, 2019
https://t.co/ZH2PrIOgUy Time for the team to have a lawyer (to interpret the laws of the game) in addition to mathematicians (to interpret DL Method)
— Arunkumar Hegde (@arunkumarhegde) July 15, 2019
— JK Jha (@jaykrishnajha) July 15, 2019
So much to think about by @icc after the World Cup Final.. these small mistakes prove fatal in nail bitting matches #CWC19Final #ENGvsNZ@cricketaakash
Should England have got five, not six for overthrows? https://t.co/zVxTh2ocZp
via ESPNCricinfo app https://t.co/p3j5fp05qs
— Jeegar Dalal (@jeegar13) July 15, 2019
— LandOfRisingEarth (@Gaurav_Gupta_11) July 15, 2019
At the moment the ball was released by the New Zealand fielder, Martin Guptill, Stokes and his partner, Adil Rashid, had not yet crossed for their second run.
England should have got five, not six for overthrows?
Now for me #NZ is the #CWC19 champion. https://t.co/PQCePIOGAj
— Amaresh Ojha 🇮🇳 (@Amreso99) July 15, 2019