Simon Taufel Says Awarding England Six Runs On The Overthrow Was A Clear Mistake

Umpires blunder cost New Zealand the World Cup. Umpiring standards were questioned the whole tournament and in the end, umpires blunder decided the winner. Simon Taufel says it was a clear mistake to award six runs on the overthrows.

Simon Taufel

According to law 19.8 pertaining to Overthrow or wilful act of fielder which reads: If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the willful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be:

Any runs for penalties awarded to either side and the allowance for the boundary and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.

Simon Taufel while speaking to on Monday said:

“It’s a clear mistake … it’s an error of judgment. They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six. In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw. Obviously, TV replays showed otherwise.”

Matin Guptil After World Cup Loss

The umpiring standards were questioned throughout the World Cup and the ICC should seriously look into the issue after two top umpires in Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus made a serious error and that too in a World Cup final.

So, in the end, the umpiring error cost New Zealand the World Cup. The heaviest price you pay.