Messi & Ronaldo With Fight for Best FIFA Player with Eight Others

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi will head for the best FIFA Men’s Player Awards again. Shortlist was announced today and on 24th September in London, a ceremony will be held to announce the winner.

Read: Where Can You Watch 2018-19 Football Season In India.

The award was launched in 2016 with the Portuguese star twice seeing off competition from long-time rival Messi. Ronaldo will be bidding to defend his trophy after having a stunning start to the year with Real Madrid winning back to back Champions League before moving to Juventus in a sensational £88 million switch earlier this month.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi
source – AFP | Messi and Ronaldo at last year’s awards ceremony

Brazilian forward and World record signing Neymar Jr. was third last time but, misses out this time following his disappointing first campaign in France Capital.

Mo Salah
Mo Salah is up for the award | source-PA

A total of four players were nominated from the Premier League & La Liga whereas the teenage sensation and the winner of the Young Payer Award in FIFA World Cup Kylian Mbappe is representing French League alone. Following Ronaldo’s move to Old Lady, Serie A got one nominee who is also a strong candidate to win the trophy.

List of the Full Nomination

  • Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus & Portugal

  • Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City & Belgium

  • Antoine Griezmann – Atletico Madrid & France

  • Eden Hazard – Chelsea & Belgium

  • Harry Kane – Tottenham & England

  • Kylian Mbappe – Paris St-Germain & France

  • Lionel Messi – Barcelona & Argentina

  • Luka Modric – Real Madrid & Croatia

  • Mohamed Salah – Liverpool & Egypt

  • Raphael Varane – Real Madrid & France