Heavyweight Who Lost In BJP And Modi Tsunami

In 2014 it was Modi wave but, in 2019 it was Modi Tsunami. This election will be remembered as some heavyweight losing with Rahul Gandhi tops the list.

Have a look at the heavyweight who lost in 2019.

1. Rahul Gandhi:

This name needs no introduction. President of Congress who choose two seats to fight. One the family seat in Amethi and another in Wayanad. As expected, Smriti Irani gave him super tough fight and came out as a winner. He couldn’t save his family seat.

2. Jyotiraditya Scindia

Jyotiraditya Madhavrao Scindia is from the Scindia family that once ruled in Gwalior and is an MP, from Guna constituency. And in 2019 he was again a Congress candidate from Guna. But, he lost from his homeland. Krishna Pal, was know as Jyotiraditya’s right hand, who joined BJP after 2018 election stood as a BJP candidate against him this time and won.

3. H. D. Deve Gowda

Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda is an Indian politician who served as the 11th Prime Minister of India from 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997. He was previously the 14th Chief Minister of Karnataka from 1994 to 1996. The 86 year old is among the heavyweights who lost in Modi Tsunami. Former PM and a Heavyweight lost from Tumkur seat with a minor margin.

4. Digvijay Singh

Digvijaya Singh is the former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for 10 years and was Congress candidate from the state capital. He is General Secretary of the Congress party’s All India Congress Committee. Controversial figure Pragya Singh Thakur was against a heavyweight and she won by more than 3 lakh votes.

5. Sushilkumar Shinde

Sushilkumar Shinde is an Indian politician from the state of Maharashtra. He was the Minister of Home Affairs, Minister of Power in the Manmohan Singh government, and the Leader of the House in Lok Sabha until 26 May 2014. Mr Shinde served as Chief Minister of Maharastra between (2003–2004). He lost from Solapur constituency.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Result

6. Ashok Shankarrao Chavan

Ashok Chavan is an Indian politician from Indian National Congress party, who has served as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra state from 8 December 2008 to 9 November 2010. He was sitting MP from Nanded and was looking for another term in 2019. But, lost to BJP.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Result

7. Harish Rawat

Harish Chandra Singh Rawat is an Indian politician who was Chief Minister of Uttarakhand from 2014-2017. A five-time Member of Parliament, Rawat is a leader of the Indian National Congress party. Former CM and Uttarakhand Heavyweights was trying his luck from Nainital-Udhamsingh Nag but lost with more than 3 lakh votes.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Result

8. Sheila Dikshit

Sheila Dikshit is an Indian politician who was the longest serving Chief Minister of Delhi, serving for a period of 15 years from 1998 to 2013. Dikshit led Congress party to three consecutive electoral victories in Delhi. The longest serving CM was fielded against Manoj Tiwari and the difference is huge between two.

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Result

9. Bhupinder Singh Hooda

Bhupinder Singh Hooda is an Indian National Congress politician who served as the Chief Minister of Haryana from 2005 to 2014. When he began a second term in October 2009 after leading the Congress to an election victory, it was the first time since 1972 that a Haryana electorate returned a ruling party back to power. Former Haryana CM is fighting from Sonipat but, couldn’t survive against Modi’s tsunami. 

10. Shibu Soren

Shibu Soren is an Indian politician who thrice served as Chief Minister of Jharkhand, first in 2005 for 10 days, then from 2008 to 2009 and again from 2009 to 2010. He was sworn in as the third Chief Minister of Jharkhand on 30 December 2009 after winning the Jharkhand Assembly elections. Sibhu Soren another heavyweight and was in from Dumka where he is trailing by more than 50K votes.

11. Sharad Yadav

Sharad Yadav is a politician from the Loktantrik Janata Dal party. He has been elected to Lok Sabha seven times and to Rajya Sabha thrice from Janta Dal. Mr Yadav was the national president of Janata Dal since its formation till the year 2016. He was fighting from Madhepura and is trailing by more than 3 lakh votes and there is no road back for Janta Dal president.

12. Mallikarjun Kharge

Mapanna Mallikarjun Kharge is an Indian politician and the leader of the Indian National Congress party in the 16th Lok Sabha. He is the former Minister of Railways and Minister of Labour and Employment in the Government of India. He was the leader of the opposition from 2014 and fighting from Gulbarga, where he won in 2014 but, in 2019 he is another heavyweight to lose.

13. Dimple Yadav

Dimple Yadav is an Indian politician from the Samajwadi Party who is a second-time Member of the Indian Parliament from Kannauj. Her husband is Samajwadi Party supremo and former CM of Uttar Pradesh, Akhilesh Yadav. The wife of SP supremo looks like is here for a loss from Kannauj Lok Sabha seat.

14. Ajit Singh

Ajit Singh is an Indian politician. He is the founder and chief of the Rashtriya Lok Dal, a political party recognized in the western part of the state of Uttar Pradesh, and son of former Prime Minister of India late Chaudhary Charan Singh. Ajit Singh is in a close contest from Sanjeev Balyan and is trailing by 25K votes.

15. Kalvakuntla Kavitha

Kalvakuntla Kavitha is an MP and Telangana Rashtra Samithi party member. She is the first woman parliamentarian from Telangana. She represents Nizamabad Lok Sabha Constituency and she is the daughter of Chief Minister of Telangana K. Chandrasekhar Rao. Kavitha lost from Nizamabad by 45k votes against BJP’s cricketer-turned-politician Dharmapuri Arvind.

The other heavyweight who lost Lok Sabha election includes Ajay Maken, Salman Khurshid, Shatrughan Sinha, Raj Babbar.

cover image source